Over $114,909 Awarded in Federal EFSP Funding

Tygart Valley United Way has announced $87,531 in ARPA-R funding and $27,378 in Phase 39 Emergency Food and Shelter Program (EFSP) funding to a total of 16 non-profit organizations in the Tygart Valley region.

The Emergency Food and Shelter Program (EFSP) was created in 1983 to supplement and expand the work of local social service agencies, both nonprofit and governmental, in an effort to help people with economic emergencies (not disaster-related).

EFSP funds may be used to provide economic assistance in the long term, even if the current circumstances may have been impacted by an earlier disaster occurrence. EFSP funding is open to all 501(c)(3) non-profits, faith-based organizations, and government organizations helping hungry and homeless people.

“The Emergency Food & Shelter Program is a federal government program that is another avenue for non-profits to secure additional funding for served meals, other food, homeless services, and shelter nights if they are within the required guidelines for the funding," says Joseph Solberg, Finance and Grants Director at TVUW and EFSP Board Chair. “United Way is proud to serve as the lead for this process to bring dollars into our community.”

A separate Local EFSP Board sets funding priorities based on current needs and eligible program activities prior to the selection of agencies for funding. Local Boards must look at the resources available in the community, the emergency food and shelter needs of the community, gaps in services in the community and focus the dollars to address these needs in the areas of emergency food and shelter.

The priorities may vary from year to year, so each award phase is evaluated individually. Once priorities are set, the Local Board reviews proposals and selects organizations for funding to help meet the identified needs.

The local Board requests that applying agencies leverage partnerships, funding, and prevention solutions to complement the immediate relief provided by emergency food and shelter grants.

Grant recipients for this round of funding include:

Marion County

  • Reset Incorporated
  • Soup Opera
  • Connecting Link
  • HOPE, Inc.
  • Giver’s Hand Food Pantry
  • NCWV Community Action
  • Tygart Valley United Way

Randolph County

  • Meals on Wheels of Randolph County
  • Elkins United Christian Community Center
  • Highland Community Builders
  • Catholic Charities
  • Tygart Valley United Way

Taylor County

  • NCWV Community Action
  • Bread of Life Mission
  • Taylor County Family Resources
  • Tygart Valley United Way

Tucker County

  • Blackwater Ministerial Association
  • Tygart Valley United Way

For more information on these funds or the program, visit http://tvuw.us/efsp or you can contact Joseph Solberg at (304) 366-4550 or email joseph@tvunitedway.org.