Brett White

Chief Executive Officer
304-366-4550, Ext. 101

Brett White was named the 15th Executive Director of the United Way of Marion and Taylor Counties in 2017. In 2021, he became the first CEO of the regional Tygart Valley United Way.

Prior to his current role, he was the Director of Development and Communications at the United Way of Monongalia and Preston Counties, where he oversaw the $1.5 million dollar fundraising campaign. Before joining the United Way family, he was the Program Coordinator at the WVU Center for Civic Engagement.

He has been involved in the service field since a very young age. While in high school, Brett founded a non-profit corporation, Youth Service West Virginia, and served as President and CEO of this organization for eight years. He served on the board of directors and was the first chairman of the National Youth Advisory Council of Youth Service America in Washington D.C.

He has received the Governor's Service Award, the Jefferson Award for Public Service, Daily Point of Light Award, Marion County Hero Award, and the Marion County Community Leadership Award. He was named number 19 on the Dominion Post's 100 Most Influential list and named to the 30 under 30 list in Morgantown Magazine. In 2000, at the age of 16, he was named the youngest Distinguished West Virginian in the history of the state.

In 2020, he was named to the State Journal’s Generation Next: 40 Under 40. Also in 2020, Governor Justice appointed him to the West Virginia Commission for National and Community Service.

Brett previously served as the Chair of the West Virginia United Way Collaborative for five years. He currently serves on the board of directors for the West Virginia Nonprofit Association, West Virginia 211, Marion County Chamber of Commerce, Public Relations Society of West Virginia, and Charitable Gift Planners of West Virginia. He is past Chair of the Fairmont Human Rights Commission.

Brett is a graduate of the FBI Citizens Academy and Leadership Marion, where he currently serves as Co-Director of the program. He is the Past President of both the Rotary Club of South Fairmont and the Mountain State Rotary E-Club.